Back to home page
Values for a community-based mental healthcareTrieste Local Healthcare AgencyTrieste Mental Health DepartmentArchive of TextsLinks

The Trieste Local Healthcare Agency


The Mental Health Department forms part of the Trieste Local Healthcare Agency (LHA) n. 1 "Triestina", which was completely reorganised following the formation of a separate Hospitals Agency in 1997 (today University Hospital Agency). The purpose of this reorganisation, which took place primarily during the 1990's, was to provide more resources and impetus to community-based healthcare services, and re-balance what had been an excessively "hospital-centric" system.

The Trieste LHA covers the territory of the Province of Trieste, with a total population of about 245k, 210k of which reside in Trieste and the remainder in a handful of small municipalities (Duino Aurisina, Sgonico, Monrupino, Muggia, San Dorligo della Valle).

Since 1998, the Trieste LHA has been made up of 4 Healthcare Districts, 3 Departments (Mental Health Department, Substance Dependency Department and Prevention Department) and 3 inter-District centres (Cardiovascular Centre, Social Oncology Centre and the 118 Emergency Service). The new organisational set-up requires that the services work together in a coherent and integrated fashion, utilising a multi-disciplinary workstyle in order to achieve goals and carry out projects. This "forced" integration can be considered the primary innnovation and main factor for development and change within the Agency.


DSM - Via Weiss 5 - 34128 Trieste - Italy - Tel. (0039).040.3997360 Fax (0039).040.3997363 - e-mail:




Numeri Utili Redazione del sito Mappa del sito Torna all'home page Come funziona il Dipartimento Guida ai servizi di salute mentale Siti utili Premesse Trieste: storia di un cambiamento Franco Basaglia Letteratura Link al sito Archivi Generali della Deistituzionalizzazione

Torna all'home page Back to Italian home page